International Research Group

on Wood Protection


Guidelines for the Richard J Ziobro Award


This guideline provides the eligibility and selection processes to determine the best scientific poster presented at an IRG Annual Meeting. The associated award is sponsored by Koppers Performance Chemicals Inc, USA.

This award honors Mr Richard J Ziobro, a respected scientist in the field of wood protection, who was an active IRG member since 1984, member of the IRG Executive Council and IRG Travel Awards Committee, four time member of Local Organizing Committees (LOC), and Chair of the LOC for IRG 38 at Jackson Lake Lodge in the US in 2007.

The award will be USD 1000,00 and a plaque will be given by Koppers Performance Chemicals to a student/young scientist participant at the Annual Meetings during the period of 2016-2020 for the best poster presentation.
The awardee needs to show that at the time of the Annual Meeting, she/he was actively enrolled in an internationally or nationally recognized educational institution.

The poster presentations at the Annual Meeting will be judged and evaluated by the IRG Scientific Programme Committee. The poster will be judged on the organization of the scientific material, the quality of the poster (the clarity and the delivery of technical information), the scientific value and the impact of the results/findings on a given topic/problem/issue in the field of wood protection.

Awarding Ceremony
The plaque for the award will be given every year at the last Plenary session of the Annual Meeting, and presented to the winner by a person designated by the Scientific Programme Committee. The check, in USD, will be either presented to or sent to the recipient by Koppers Performance Chemicals Inc, USA soon after the award ceremony.

Click to read or download the PDF version of this document.